Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Flags or Banners

After 9/11, my attitude about the American flag changed a lot. Within hours after the attacks, people were driving around our tiny midwestern town with American flags tied to the sides of their pickup trucks. On the one hand I understood the need to pull together, on the other, it seemed to presage the statement later given by George W. “You’re either with us or you’re against us.”

Not long after that we hung a flag outside our own house. It looked like this:

earth

So when this week’s Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge came out, and referenced flags or banners I struggled a bit. I’m not a big fan of nationalism or even patriotism. But then I realized I do like a few flags. The one above is one of them. My submission for the challenge below is another. It represents inclusion and I’m a huge fan of that.

pride

Taken at Toronto’s Pride Parade – 2008. If you want to know more about why it is one of my favourite events you can have a look at this entry.

6 thoughts on “Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Flags or Banners

  1. I read your post about the parade. There is so much to learn in life. I think your son is lucky to have a father like you. Thank you for sharing 🙂 Lakshmi Bhat

    1. Thank you very much. Being a father is the most important “job” I’ve ever had so I really try hard to do it well. The great thing about it is how rewarding and how much fun it has been as well. 🙂

Share your thoughts!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.